Dawe Lab Past and Present members


Karyn Willyerd

PhD student


Angus Dawe



Xiaoping Li

PhD student


Lab personnel are supported by, at various times:

National Institutes of Health (MBRS-RISE program)

Howard Hughes Medical Institute (Undergraduate Research Scholars program)

National Science Foundation Awards MCB-1051453 (current) and 0718735 (previous)

NMSU Department of BioLogy

NMSU Office of the Vice-President for Research



Mona Pokharel

PhD student


John Fissel

Undergraduate student


Whatever happened to...

Joanna Bueche (Salamon), PhD May 2010

    Postdoctoral Fellow, UC Berkeley

Rong Mu, PhD Aug 2011

    Postdoctoral Fellow, San Diego State University

Gloricelys Rivera, PhD Dec 2011

    Postdoctoral Fellow, Universidad Metropolitana, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Hilary Boyer, HHMI Research Scholar, 2008 - 2010

    Research Assistant, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle WA

Rachel Acuna, HHMI Research Scholar, 2007 - 2009

    Medical School

Amanda Kemp, HHMI Research Scholar, 2006 - 2008 and Research Assistant, May - Dec 2008

    Radiology Technology program, Dothan AL

Tannia Lau, RISE Undergraduate Researcher, 2006 - 2008

    Studying abroad in Sevilla, Spain

Other Lab Alumni

Desa Daniel (NM-AMP participant, 2008 - 2009)

Adela Magallanes (Summer student 2008 + 2009 through NM-AMP from New Mexico Tech)

Madeleine Brown (NMSU-HHMI Research Scholar 2009)

Victor Candelaria (NMSU Undergraduate Researcher 2005 - 2007)

Andres Henner (Mayfield High School, Spring 2005)

Ty Todechine (Dine College, AZ, Bridge Program, Summer 2007)

Lauren Grabowski (NMSU-HHMI Research Scholar 2006 - 2007)

Monique Jackson (RISE Undergraduate Researcher 2006)

Uriel Ortega Rodriguez

Undergraduate student

HHMI research Scholar